Newark Central School District 2023 Spring Scholar Athletes

To view the designed article with photos and graphics, visit:

Text in the article is located below:

Four Newark High School spring teams have qualified for State Scholar Athlete Team status.

The recognition is given by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association to varsity athletic teams that collectively achieve averages of 90 or better.

“Congratulations to our spring scholar athletes and teams. This year, 24 of our 29 varsity teams earned the NYSPHSAA Scholar Athlete Team Award. As a result, Newark has been named a NYSPHSAA School of Excellence. This is a tremendous accomplishment and one that our student athletes, coaches, district staff, and community should be very proud of. I am grateful for the opportunity to work with coaches that emphasize academics and student athletes that are committed to their work in the classroom. Go REDS,” said Jonathan Mastin, Director of Health, Physical Education and Athletics for the Newark Central School District.

The State Scholar Athlete teams that were recognized, their coaches and their averages follow:

Girls Varsity Outdoor Track, coached by Mark Pettit and Jessica Wells, with a grade point average of 96.07. Team members included are: Gabrielle Baker, Skye Capron, Mackenzie Cardona, Margherita Corradi, Brooklyn Graham, Dayana Heidrick, Taya Hilfiker, Grace Holmes, Mikalya Miller, Jayda Solomon, Anna Verdine and Stephanie Wilson.

Girls Varsity Lacrosse, coached by Karen Cline, with a grade point average of 95.179. Team members include: Malia Brown, Stella DelPapa, Janae Downing, Molly Goulette, Lillian Hargarther, Elizabeth Kirilka, Thea Lewis, Kate Mahoney, Amelia Maslyn, Catherine Peacock, Kellyn Pettine, Kendall Ridley, Kelsea Socha, Anna Verdine and Kathryn Verdine.

Varsity Boys Tennis, coached by Luke Petrosino, with a grade point average of 94.175. Teams members included are: Cameron Baker, Matteo Botelho, Landon Burkhart, Andrew Flock, Ethan Klock, Jadon Kowaleski, Lindsay Miller Jr., Ian Murphy, Cale Talbot, Douglas Wells and Benjamin Winkler.

Varsity Boys Lacrosse, coached by John Hicks, with a grade point average of 92.196. Team members included are: Jream Brown, Carlos Bueso, Carter Bumpus, Kaiden Carr, Giancarlo Colon, Kellen Foster Jr., Lucas Herd, Drake Hernandes, Tariq Joseph Jr., Talen Kanaley, Lucas Lyon, Ryan Mack, Marwan Osmen, Preston Steve, Ethan Tonkinson and Sam Underhill.